Main Article Content


The fact is that the Indian Constitution, following the precedent set under the Government of India Act of 1935, divides the governmental powers into three lists – the Union List, the State List and the Concurrent List. The distribution is remarkably elaborated and detailed and attempt has been made to cover the whole field of all possible governmental activity as far as the human mind can visualize at present. If still some powers are left unspecified, they are vested in the Centre. The Union List contains those matters on which the Union Parliament has exclusive right to frame the laws. The State Legislatures have the exclusive powers of making laws with respect to matters enumerated in the State List.

Article Details